Realm of Science October 20th 1914
Rigge, William F., S.J.
MetadataShow full item record
First Paragraph: Readers of “The Chronicle” may remember that mention was made in two previous numbers (February and March, 1914), of a series of eight astronomical panoramic views taken from the dome of the Observatory towards the principal points of the compass, which had the circles of the celestial sphere drawn upon them at intervals of five degrees, so that the motions of the stars could be studied with respect to fixed terrestrial objects. These views had been mounted on the sides of a regular octagon, so that by placing one’s eye at its center, and on the level with the horizon line, one could get an exact idea of the various motions of the stars. As this octagon was rather small, being only two feet across, the pictures were too near the eye to be comfortably seen, nor could they be viewed by more than one person at a time. All this has now been greatly improved. Several students or visitors can now stand together in the middle of a large octagon, which may almost be called a room since it measures eight feet across, and they may all look together upon the eight pictures which are each forty inches wide and thirty high.